How to find us?

Tel. +7 495 785 86 05 (bendri klausimai), +7 495 785 86 25 (konsuliniai klausimai)
Fax +7 495 785 86 00 (bendri klausimai), +7 495 785 86 49 (konsuliniai klausimai)


Created: 2019.12.05 / Updated: 2020.10.05 16:18


Due to COVID-19 restrictions, applications for Schengen visa can only be lodged by the persons, whose entry to the Republic of Lithuania is not prevented.


Types of Schengen visa:

  • Airport transit visa, which entitles its holder transit through the international transit areas of one or more airports of the Member States. An airport transit visa may be issued for one or multiple entries.
  • Short-stay visa, which entitles its holder stay on the territory of the Member States for a period not exceeding 90 days in any 180-day period (Short-stay Visa Calculator).

A short-stay uniform visa is valid for the following countries of the Schengen area: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland and Sweden. A short-visa uniform issued by the Embassy or Consulate of these countries allows its holder to travel freely within the Schengen area.

A short-stay visa with limited territorial validity is valid for the territory of only one or more countries of the Schengen area, but not for all countries of the Schengen area.

A short-stay visa may be issued for one, two or multiple entries.



  • National visa can be issued to an alien whose purpose of entry is long-term stay (more than 90 days) in the Republic of Lithuania (work, studies, science, legal activities, and other purposes, provided for in legislation of the Republic of Lithuania).
  • National visa is issued for a period of at least 91 days and maximum of 1 year. If an alien has been issued with a multiple-entry national visa for 1 year, another multiple-entry national visa may be issued if more than 180 days had expired from the previous national visa or the total validity period of all previous national visas. The total period of validity of several multiple-entry national visas is counted from the date of issue of the previous multiple-entry national visa, if less than 180 days have elapsed since the expiry of its validity.
  • An alien holding national visa can stay in the Republic of Lithuania for the whole period of its validity.
  • An alien holding valid national visa can travel to the territory of other countries of the Schengen area for a period not exceeding 90 days in any 180-day period.




Mere possession of a visa does not confer an automatic right of entry. Visa holders at the external border are required to present evidence that they fulfil the entry conditions, as provided for in Article 6 of the Schengen Borders Code.